Back to Team

Christian Kurts



Principal Investigator
Project 14
Institute of Experimental Immunology
Faculty of Medicine, University Hospital Bonn
University of Bonn


Education and Degrees

1999 Habilitation, Experimental Nephrology, Hannover Medical School, Prof. K.M. Koch

1991 Doctorate, Medicine, University of Göttingen, Prof. Otto Götze

1985-1991 Studies of Physics and Medicine, State examination, University of Göttingen

Scientific Career

2009-present W3 Professor and Director, Institute of Molecular Medicine and Experimental Immunology, University Hospital Bonn

2005 Board certification Nephrology, University of Aachen, Prof. Dr. Floege

2003-2009 C3 Professor of Molecular Immunology, University Hospital Bonn

2002 Visiting scientist, La Jolla Institute for Allergy and Immunology, San Diego, CA, USA

2000-2003 Group Leader, Department of Nephrology and Clinical Immunology, RWTH Aachen

2000 Board certification Internal Medicine, Hannover Medical School, Prof. K.M. Koch

1998-2000 Medical Officer and Research Fellow, Department of Nephrology, Hannover Medical School (MHH)

1997-1998 Research Fellow, Department of Microbiology, Monash Medical School, Melbourne, Australia

1995-1997 Postdoctoral fellow, Thymus Biology Unit, The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute for Medical Research (WEHI), Melbourne, Australia

1991-1995 Medical Officer and Research Fellow, Department of Nephrology, Medical School Hannover (MHH)

Honors and Awards

2020-present Deputy Senator Leopoldina Section 13

2016-2021 Member of the DFG Review Board for Medicine, Section Inflammation

2016-2018 Member of the Senate of the University of Bonn

2015-present Speaker, DFG IRTG 2169 “Myeloid cells in the induction of adaptive Immunity”, University of Bonn and Melbourne University, Australia

2014-present Member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

2013-2017 Co-Speaker, DFG CRC 704 “Molecular Mechanisms and Chemical Modulation of Local Immune Regulation", University of Bonn

2012-present Steering Committee Member, Cluster of Excellence “ImmunoSensation/ImmunoSensation2”, University of Bonn

2012-2021 Co-Speaker, DFG CRC/TRR 57 “Organ-Fibrosis”, University of Bonn and RWTH Aachen

2012 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize

2010 Hans U. Zollinger Award of the German Society for Nephrology

2005-present 'Vertrauensdozent' (Student mentor) of the 'Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes' (German National Academic Foundation)

2001 Heisenberg Fellowship of the DFG

2000-2005 Career Development Grant of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

1999 Sir Hans Krebs Award for Basic Medical Research

1992 Annual Award of the German Society for Nephrology for best Doctoral Thesis

1986-1991 Fellowship of the ‘Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes’ (German National Academic Foundation)